In Response to one dystressed…

7 Jul

I don’t get the whole trackback thing, or how to link someone else’s blog with mine, so I am posting a response I wrote to dystressed on the blog FreeThought Fort Wayne

Perhaps a little lesson from history will be good- “Should I keep back my opinions at such a time, through fear of giving offense, I should consider myself as guilty of treason towards my country, and of an act of disloyalty toward the Majesty of Heaven, which I revere above all earthly kings.” (Patrick Henry, 1775, The House of Burgess)

Scathouse- If by hijacking the Constitution you mean allowing freedom of the press as opposed to the Fairness Doctrine, a democrat-backed demand for equal time in a market that won’t buy it, I agree. If by hijacking the Constitution you mean allowing freedom of religion rather than demanding freedom from religion, I agree. If by hijacking the Constitution you mean allowing law-abiding people to choose to bare arms rather than creating a state in which only criminals will be able to bare arms, I agree.

dystressed- Obviously you have some real issues with the idea of “sea to shining sea” and defending this great land. Sure, it is not perfect- it is run by imperfect people. For instance, when elected officials kowtow to the demands of the fascists that have usurped a worthy environmental cause and prevented land-owners from the rightful use of land to protect a nest of snail-darters, you’re right, I am concerned. When I am forced through legislative action to pay confiscatory tax rates so you can have public healthcare rather than working to provide your own, as I do, you’re right, I am concerned.

I would ask both of you, what have you done today, this week, this month, or this year to make a difference in this great country? Have either of you done anything more that whine and complain on your blogs? Have you tried to educate yourself on the issues of the day, to write your representatives in congress, to donate to charity to relieve the suffering of those less fortunate than you? The way of the Republican party is self-determination and giving, while the liberal left would force giving for re-distribution to the poor through a failed system of welfare that has seen $1.5 trillion come and go, with little if any positive effect.

If you seek for the welfare state of the democrat/liberal left, you seek to enslave yourselves to a state that will determine everything you are, everything you get, everything you become, from the day you are born, till the day you die.

“Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!” (ibid.)

2 Responses to “In Response to one dystressed…”

  1. imaknoyd July 8, 2008 at 5:50 pm #

    dystressed, you misunderstand. I, too, honor the service men and women. I did not question your honor to them, but rather I questioned your personal willingness to defend the constitution and the United States. Your initial post and the subsequent seems to indicate to me that you personally deplore the idea of patriotism and manifest destiny. I would assume that you do not believe this country has a devine origin, one that says that it was established by God through men to be a great and prosperous nation. True, much evil has been done in this country because men are free to make choices, and too many make bad choices. But if we only look for the evil, we overlook the good.

    On the other hand, is it arrogant for us to believe that we are a divinely inspired nation that time and again has used that manifest destiny to come to the rescue of nations like Poland, France, England, Germany, South Korea, and the list goes on?

    Let me give you a down to earth example. My youngest son is 13, stands 6′2″ and weighs a little over 200 pounds. One day the subject of bullying came on the radio, and I asked him if he was a bully at school. He replied “No, I’m the one that bullies the bullies.” My oldest son was in fourth grade and got suspended for 3 days for fighting. I asked him to explain so I would know the kind of punishment I should enact, and he explained that a 6th grader was picking on a kindergartner, and he stepped in to “remove the threat.” I explained that while school doesn’t work that way, he had no beef with me, and that while he did have to stay home, he would not be punished by me.

    Are either of my sons arrogant for standing up for the little guys against tyranny and despotism? I hope you say no, but if you say yes, enough said, I understand the case is hopeless. Your preference will be to allow the bullies of the world to overrun the little guys, the defenseless, while you merely run.

    Finally, I would ask you to submit your ideal of what a perfect country would be, with the form of government, the ideal rights of the citizenry, the methods of punishment, and a foreign policy. What about taxation and distribution of wealth and responsibility, healthcare. Does your country stand back and watch as despots overrun their neighbors and tyrrants kill off their citizens by the hundreds of thousands, or do you take a stand?

  2. dystressed July 7, 2008 at 10:35 pm #

    knoyd,

    I applaud the service people of our country. But that wasn’t the point of my conversation topic. I have replied to the comments back at the original post.

Leave a Reply

